What is success?

Ok, tell me, what is success?

What is “having a good job”?

And what do you mean when you say “he is successful?”

What is the motivation behind it?

Money? Lots of it maybe? Or prestige, status, or applause? People looking at you with envy? Power? Everybody treats  you with respect? I don’t know, you name it!

In 10 years of my professional life I have had more than 20 different jobs.. Some gave me money, some prestige, some vision, some inspiration, some insight, and some adventure. But I think the greatest job I have been doing through all these years was practicing the art of living! And it is the most difficult job I had ever.

Few days ago, I was having a chat with a friend, and she learnt that I had refused a very good business offer just because it didn’t  fit with  my dreams and she goes “Aren’t you feeling bad sitting and doing nothing, not having a respectable job and wasting  your life? You became 31 already”. She had good intentions and was really worried about my future since the things I am doing is not respectable enough🙂

What does “sitting and doing nothing” means?

Well, as Zen masters would agree, “sitting (in peace) and doing nothing” is the most difficult qualification to get in life. I was actually trying very hard to come to that point.

Practicing the art of living requires strength to get along with criticism, pain, and loneliness. It requires self esteem in the moments when you cry miserably and ask yourself “Am I mad?” It requires lots of patience to transform your anger to love, to forgiveness. It requires trust to accept and to surrender to life by knowing a better thing will come. It requires courage to face your fears and stand tall in the dark nights of your soul. There is no applause in this path, but lots of doubt and tears.

But if you manage to walk to the end, if you are brave enough, you will get what I have now: health, happiness, beauty, freedom, peace, tranquility, love, compassion, positive attitude, self confidence, fortitude and wealth (yes, I said weath)..

Osho says freedom is “to be able to say yes when you want to say yes, to be able to say no when you want to say no, to be able to sit silent when you don’t want to answer” and he continues “Freedom is only possible by accepting and knowing your true self, who you really are”…  and this is the most difficult part in a world where we are surrounded by interests rather than pure love.

I worked so hard to come to a point where I watch the falling rain in peace, honor the passing cloud and someone with anger the same way, wake up in the morning and feeling blessed, being healthy and beautiful, a point where I love and am loved intimately and I embrace the shadows with my light.

So how did I answer my friend? I smiled and said “You have no idea how crazily I’ve been working the last 10 years and finally I am getting there”. Of course she didn’t understand but I know there are people feeling lonely and doubting out there or people already smiling reading this, this post is for you sisters and brothers🙂

***

Here is a mini collection of my “success” from the last 2 years..

I mastered in the art of making delicous borek

I mastered in the art of making delicous borek

spent time with friends, learnt and laughed a lot

spent time with friends, learnt and laughed a lot

tried to be the best auntie

tried to be the best auntie

did beautiful raw vegan cakes

did beautiful raw vegan cakes

discovered and read excellent books

discovered and read excellent books

visited Rumi's grave and prayed

visited Rumi’s grave and prayed

spent time on the beach, in the sea, under the sun, with the waves

spent time on the beach, in the sea, under the sun, with the waves, through the wind

Got better at my tarot readings and help many to be aware of their spirit

Got better at my tarot readings and help many to be aware of their spirit

Made many happy and healthy with my raw chocolates

Made others happy and healthy with my raw chocolate gifts

I posted 115 articles on my blog and let people inspire from my experiences of creating a better life

I posted 115 articles on my blog and let people inspire from my experiences ,words and pictures of creating a better life

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was published on 10/05/2013 at 9:11 am and is filed under life. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

