Months later first day in Istanbul…

Finally my travelling life is over and I am back to Turkey after 5 months. I am happy, relieved but very very surprised.

The first time I saw bunch of Turkish people was at Sharjah airport waiting for Istanbul flight. They were moving too much, talking too loud. While I was in love with the toilet cause it was clean and there was toilet paper, they were disgusted saying “oh, how dirty!” I forgot how, us, the city people, are interrupted, spoiled and arrogant. How we forgot to appreciate and like simple things.

It was beyond words to meet my family. I caught myself smiling many times just because I was able to sleep on very clean sheets or I can go to toilet barefoot and step on smooth, beautiful carpets.

I ate borek, avocado, stuffed grape leaves and salad. The best part was when we drink tea with mum and exchanged stories. Turkish tea in special little glasses!

I checked my closet and shocked by the amount of the clothes I have. Why do we need so many clothes? It seems I forgot the answer.

I feel changed while everything seems unchanged around me.

Are you aware of what you have in your hands? Having a big fridge, taking a hot shower, talking on the phone, cooking food on oven, walking on carpets, choosing clothes from the closet and fast internet connection…

But I think the best and the most important is having a mum who cooks for you, who misses you, who gives you a wake up kiss and who loves you and who you love. If you ask me what you have learnt in India, I would say “appreciating what I already have and gratitude:)

I am the luckiest girl in the world:)

 

This entry was published on 04/24/2012 at 12:44 pm and is filed under india. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Months later first day in Istanbul…

  1. zoliyugoman on said:

    and now a new journey starts, in the City of the Sultans🙂

Leave a Reply

